Moved to Uni and no TeamSpeak or Ventrilo

For all your PC problems

Moderator: Admin

Moved to Uni and no TeamSpeak or Ventrilo

Postby Random Smurf » Wed Sep 22, 2010 10:08 am

Not sure this is quite the right section, but I have now moved into Uni accommodation.
Unfortunately, it seems the Uni network blocks most VOIP access for some reason (although they do allow Skype).
Quickly tried BFBC2 and the game seems to work, not sure about the ingame VOIP though (have not tested).

Trying to see if they will unblock it for me, but I doubt anything will change.

Annoying.

Any ideas peeps?
User avatar
Random Smurf
atomic particle
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:40 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Moved to Uni and no TeamSpeak or Ventrilo

Postby Huff Smurf » Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:25 am

You should be able to run a proxy through an open port of theirs...... (I might be talking absolute rubbish) but i remember when i was at uni, we had to route a whole load of stuff through bizarre port numbers and alias's...... (Can you tell someone did it for me..)
Huff Smurf
Tree Frog
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 7:28 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Moved to Uni and no TeamSpeak or Ventrilo

Postby Jokey Smurf » Thu Sep 23, 2010 8:18 am

There will proberly always be a way around it, the thing is how serious the Uni see's on it, would be a shame to be kicked out of Uni, for meesing with there network.

Tell them that you'll need TS3 to communicate with family and studdy friends from abroad :idndi
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Jokey Smurf
True Smurf
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: Denmark-Copenhagen
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Moved to Uni and no TeamSpeak or Ventrilo

Postby ManiaSmurf » Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:18 am

Yer that sounds good, family and friends using ts3 :)
Image
User avatar
ManiaSmurf
True Smurf
 
Posts: 652
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: Havant, Hampshire
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Moved to Uni and no TeamSpeak or Ventrilo

Postby untraceable » Sun Sep 26, 2010 6:24 pm

as we spoke last night. my phone o2 can connect to teamspeak fine using 3g through the phone (i setup the o2 software and connect the phone to the pc/laptop using usb) couldn't get the other phone (virgin) to talk to the internet on the pc/laptop. my advice would be to get/borrow a 3g dongle and test it. there should be no difference between connecting through a phone or a 3g dongle as they both use the same network to transmit data.
hope that helps you
User avatar
untraceable
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: uk
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Moved to Uni and no TeamSpeak or Ventrilo

Postby Random Smurf » Sun Sep 26, 2010 6:41 pm

That sounds marvellous.
Will give it a try.

Is your O2 a prepay or contract?

I noticed the terms and conditions state that you should not use VOIP or per2peer systems or you could get restricted or banned.
Therefore a contract worries me as a lot of money to lose.
User avatar
Random Smurf
atomic particle
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:40 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Moved to Uni and no TeamSpeak or Ventrilo

Postby untraceable » Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:04 pm

my phone o2 is monthly contract but my contract goes back 12 years!
User avatar
untraceable
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: uk
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 15 times


Return to PC Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron